Dr. Tanja Masson-Zwaan is Assistant Professor and Deputy Director of the International Institute of Air and Space Law at Leiden University, and President Emerita of the International Institute of Space Law (IISL). She is Vice President for Science and Academic Relations of the International Astronautical Federation (IAF).

Tanja advises the Dutch Government and other institutions on space law issues and was co-founder of the Hague International Space Resources Governance Working Group. The Dutch Government appointed her as arbitrator for space-related disputes at the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

She teaches at universities worldwide and is Global Faculty at International Space University (ISU). She serves on various organizations’ (Advisory) Boards, including Open Lunar Foundation, the Interplanetary Initiative of Arizona State University, and the Space Sustainability Rating. She sits on the Board of Editors of Air and Space Law (Kluwer).

Tanja is an elected member of professional associations such as the International Institute of Space Law (IISL), the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA) and the International Law Association (ILA). She was a Member of the Founding Boards of the European Centre for Space Law (ECSL) and of Women in Aerospace-Europe, and is an Honorary Board Member of Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC).

She is a recipient of several awards and is a Member of Honour of the Netherlands Space Society (NVR). In 2020, Tanja received a Royal decoration as Officer in the Order of Orange Nassau for her work in the field of space law.


See https://www.universiteitleiden.nl/en/staffmembers/tanja-masson-zwaan